This Vegan French Onion Ramen Is the Ultimate Comfort Meal

The gorgeous new cookbook ‘Vegan JapanEasy’ by Tim Anderson contains a soup recipe that truly blew me away

Summer Anne Burton
Published in
6 min readApr 24, 2020

--

Photo: Nassima Rothacker

When I received my copy of restaurateur and former MasterChef winner Tim Anderson’s new cookbook, Vegan JapanEasy, I was first blown away by the design of the book. The cover is pink and gilded, featuring veggies like snap peas and mushrooms, and the pages are tipped with a rich purple hue. It, uh, spoke to my aesthetic preferences. Once opened, you’re presented with a quote from Woody Harrelson and then a defense of MSG, so I was in immediately.

Anderson previously published JapanEasy, an omnivorous cookbook, but has followed it up with a gorgeous equivalent for us vegans. Grateful to live in a world where veganising your cookbook is a savvy business move. ;)

The chapters are introduced with illustrations so gorgeous I would frame them, and every recipe includes a beautiful photo by Nassima Rothacker. Of course, the test of a cookbook is in its recipes, not its beautifulness (though I admit that I think cooking out a fancy cookbook makes the food somehow taste fancier, too). This one is packed with lots of ideas for flavor-enhancements that could be applied to many meals, from dashi broth to tonkatsu sauce. The bigger…

--

--

Summer Anne Burton
Tenderly

Editor-in-Chief and Founder of Tenderly. Former BuzzFeed exec. Moomin. Texan. Vegan for the animals. 💕