Photos: Sarah Ridgeway

This vegan banana bread is just what you need right now.

With classic baking staples flying off grocery store shelves, now is a great time to try alternative ingredients. Start with banana bread.

--

There are few baked goods I find as comforting and cozy as banana bread. It is the treat I bake most often throughout the year. Nutty, toasty, and just the right amount of sweet, it makes for a super satisfying snack.

It’s a bummer when your grocery store is out of some ingredients used in a classic banana bread recipe — especially when you have some over-ripe bananas all ready to go. Never fear! This alternative recipe is here to swoop in and save the day. And if I haven’t sold you yet, then let me just say one more thing: there’s peanut butter in it.

Notes on the ingredients and process

I recommend pre-toasting the sunflower seeds in the oven at 350°F for about 8 minutes. Let them cool before adding them to a food processor to make a fluffy flour. Don’t go too far or you will have sunflower seed butter. If you don’t have a food processor, that’s okay…

--

--

Sarah Ridgeway
Tenderly

I’m a content designer who loves to tinker in the kitchen. My pronouns are she/her.