Love Like a Dog and Find Your Epitome of Happiness

‘You love the dog more than you love us’

Nicole Akers
Published in
5 min readMay 18, 2020

--

‘The Epitome of Happiness,’ an award-winning photo taken by my oldest daughter; used with her permission

His eyes looked scared and his body looked odd: a long Dachshund body, the face of a Chihuahua, and the big long fluffy tail and the marbling of an Akita. It was clear there wasn’t a bit of pedigree in him anywhere. He looked like a bunch of different breeds had been thrown in a bag, mixed together, and dumped out into this creature. The vet scrunched his face in puzzlement, trying to decide what breed to put on his chart. We looked at each other and shrugged. “Chihuahua,” he said decidedly. We both chuckled.

We hadn’t intended on pet shopping on the day he came home. We stopped by a farm supply store to pick up a part to complete a small DIY home project. I can’t remember what piece we needed, but I remember the sign at the entrance said “Pet Adoptions Today.”

I wanted to “just look.” My husband smiled and obliged with a nod of the head. Moments after perusing the dogs, my husband said, “Nicole, come here. You’ve got to see this.” I can be a little headstrong, and he picked our last dog, so I wanted to pick this one. “I like this one,” I said. I didn’t love the Sheltie, but I liked her enough. Time would take care of the rest I told myself.

--

--

Nicole Akers
Tenderly

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.