How to Change the World With Vegan Ice Cream

Vegan businesses are more community than competition — that’s why mine teaches other entrepreneurs how to do what we do

Amelia Foxtrot
Tenderly
Published in
8 min readNov 7, 2019

--

Students spooning their flavors into cartons. Photos: Sarah Karlan

I own a vegan ice cream shop. Each winter, I catalog my business’s techniques, ingredients, and financial numbers, bind them up as a book, and open the doors to my factory for 5 days to entrepreneurs around the world who want to start an ice cream shop. Cool School is a veritable Ask Me Anything about the in’s and out’s of running a business: the struggles, the surprises, and the things you never knew were going to be part of your dream business package.

I remember once, getting a pint of vegan ice cream at a grocery store and then eating it in the parking lot. This was not the substitution for the sweet ritual I sought.

Why ice cream? For many of us, going out for ice cream is a way to mark special occasions. As a kid, getting an A+ on a report card meant a trip to the froyo shop. A school play on opening night was sure to end up with a visit to the neighborhood scoop shop. When I stopped eating dairy at the age of 25, I felt a sudden loss. How was I going to reward myself for accomplishments? While everyone…

--

--

Amelia Foxtrot
Tenderly

Serial entrepreneur at Sweet Ritual ice creams and Austin Phonograph Company.