Eating Vegan Is Easy. Being Vegan Is Not.

The truth is that it’s not always as easy as we make it seem

Colourful Rachel
Published in
6 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

Photo: Allie Smith/Unsplash

“Is being vegan difficult?” you ask.

“No,” begins the lie that I’ve been telling myself and all of you for over ten years, “It’s actually quite easy.”

The words spill through my mouth without mind interference due to frequent repetition of my it’s-no-big-deal-to-be-vegan mantra. All vegans modify the spiel, but mine goes something like this:

There are always fruits and there are always vegetables. There are always nuts, grains, and legumes. Really, just give me beans and rice and a carrot, and I’m happy.

But then, there’s the disclaimer:

I guess it becomes a bit difficult when I can’t cook for myself, when I’m traveling for long periods of time, or when I’m forced into social situations. You know, like being invited to eat at a restaurant or an acquaintance’s home.

I wonder when going to a restaurant became uncomfortable.

Then, to rid myself of this lifestyle-related uncertainty, I employ my most commonly used veganism-is-easy defense mechanism — that I don’t like eating at restaurants anyhow. (This is technically true, since my dietary preferences are far more nuanced than merely abiding in the…

--

--

Colourful Rachel
Tenderly

A somewhat-nomadic being powered by sunshine, smiles and dreams that come true.