A Complete Guide To Buying A Vegan, Ethically-Sourced Area Rug

“Wool is like the whey of textiles. It doesn’t really need to be there, yet somehow always is.”

Natalie Williams
Published in
7 min readOct 18, 2019

--

Anji Mountain’s recycled denim Hydra rug. Photo provided by Anji Mountain.

When I’m not scrolling through the countless photos of stacked vegan burgers and triple chocolate brownies on my Instagram feed, I’m probably looking modern interior design accounts full of light, airy rooms filled with lush fiddle leaf figs and vibrant gallery walls.

As someone who’s been vegan since her teen years, I know how to read ingredient lists like a pro. My closet has long been veganized. Cosmetics are checked off that list, too. So when I became an adult, I couldn’t wait to decorate my apartment so it was stylish and cruelty-free.

Non-leather couch? Check.

Throw pillows without down? Check.

Wooden coffee table? Easy peasy.

The rugs, however, were a little more difficult. Not every rug has wool in it, but naturally, all the rugs that I actually found cute had something like 10% wool in them. Typical.

Wool is like the whey of textiles. It doesn’t really need to be there, yet somehow always is. Silk rugs are also a thing, though they’re expensive and seem to be deeply impractical. Sheepskin and leather sometimes sneak…

--

--

Natalie Williams
Tenderly
Writer for

A longtime vegan and journalist based in Bangor, Maine.