5 Lessons I Learned While Grieving the Loss of My Pet

Grief opens your heart in a way that nothing else does

Alexandra Winter
Published in
8 min readJan 23, 2020

--

Photo: Jonas Vincent/Unsplash

A few months ago I lost my beloved cat, Daisy. I adopted Daisy from a shelter when she was 4 and she had been with me through five moves, three different jobs, two serious relationships and numerous heartbreaks. Daisy was my rock when I went through a moderate depression and her small, warm body on my lap or her paw on my cheek would calm my anxious mind. I think a part of me believed that she would live forever, simply because she had to, because I needed her.

Sharkin and Knox (2003) suggest that attachment to a pet can be as significant as to a family member, because pets provide us with social support free of judgement. Unlike other humans, they don’t question our political views, our career choices, or our weight. When Daisy died, my heart broke for her and for me. I am still in the process of healing, and I still burst into tears every other day, because I miss her so much. But I am moving through the grief rather than getting stuck in it, and here is what I’ve learned so far.

1. Go see a grief counsellor

It’s a thing. I contacted several grief counsellors and asked them whether they also do pet grief counselling and all of them agreed to see me.

--

--

Alexandra Winter
Tenderly

Published Author|Philosopher|Mental Health Advocate